Simple Vegan Nutella Brownies

I was a curious cat yesterday morning and wondered what average people my age were supposed to know how to cook, which led me to google “recipes every college student should know”. There were pasta dishes, salads, sandwiches, pizzas and a very striking common denominator — a chocolatey fudgy goodness that rhymes with howdy or Gaudí (from Antoni Gaudí).

I wasn’t a fan of chocolate until 2 months ago when Miriam introduced me to Choc shot and when Miriam and I tried the half-bitter Ritter Sport chocolate in Salzburg… so excuse me, I’m still new to this world of wonderfulness that is chocolate, and this was my first attempt at making my own brownies. Seeing as I had run out of sweet potatoes, I couldn’t make Deliciously Ella’s phenomenal Sweet Potato Brownies, but I did have whole wheat flour so this was what I came up with. (Fudgy, perfectly sweet, slightly crumbly… Gosh I loved it.)

Dry Ingredients:

1 cup coconut sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup whole wheat flour
6 tbsp unsweetened cocoa/ carob powder
1/2 cup hazelnut meal (omit if Nutella flavour is not desired)
1/4 cup Vegan chocolate chips (OPTIONAL)
1 tsp vanilla powder/ extract (OPTIONAL)

Wet Ingredients:

EITHER: 1 cup plant-based milk + 1 chia/ flax egg* (oil-free version)
OR: 1 cup melted coconut oil + 1/4 cup plant-based milk

*chia/ flax egg: 1 tbsp chia/ ground flax seeds + 2 tbsp water

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 175°C (350°F).
  2. In a large bowl, sift together the dry ingredients. Make a well in the centre and pour in the wet ingredients. Whisk until smooth.
  3. Spread the mixture evenly in a baking pan.
  4. Bake for 20 – 30 minutes (depending on how thick the brownies are — the thicker, the longer they’ll need in the oven).
  5. Let cool for at least 10 minutes before cutting into squares.
  6. Storage: In an airtight container in the fridge. Warm up before serving.

I shall have dreams about this for a while. This was incredi-brownie-ble.

4 thoughts on “Simple Vegan Nutella Brownies

  1. Pingback: 7-Ingredient CCC! | Stefanie Natascha

  2. Pingback: Oil-Free Chocolate Brownies On A Rainy Day | Stefanie Natascha

Leave a Reply

