My Spirit-Lifters

‘So go and write your song
The world will sing along’
— Graham Colton’s Life’s What You Make It

My dear friend Jo, this is in reply to Your lovingly written Instagram post.


Posted by jo (@jolowthehobo) on Aug 26, 2016

met one of my favourite people in the world today for a long-overdue date and dearest Nat, it is really really amazing to be friends with you ✨ someone so genuine about loving life, someone so eager to hear about stories and motivations and even daily frustrations, someone who resonates on a deeper and more passionate level. Some people are toxic, some people are exhausting, but you are always such a breath of fresh air. It’s unbelievable how I always walk away from our meetings with this sort of calm and soothing sense of contentment 🌴 Honestly can’t believe we’ve gotten so close, from comparing baby names and future bridesmaids to discussing what drives our passions and our discoveries about ourselves, I just love the depth and breadth of our conversations. remember: you are not beholden to anyone but yourself 💕 I love you very very much ❤️


Let’s start off by saying that I love You very very much too and that You, too, are one of my favourite humans in this whole entire world (Alex, You too, hun). It’s crazy how our paths couldn’t have varied more from one another, but fate is a funny thing, hey.

You’ve got a special gift, Jo. You empower those around You through the strength with which You live Your life. You inspire them to live courageously just by You proudly being You. I love how You decided to live and not just survive, how You choose to see problems as challenges because… “Problems are obstacles that threaten to topple us over, while challenges empower us to conquer.”

I’m so happy for You. You’ve found security in being Yourself, You’ve found Your calling and You’ve found comfort and elation in Your choice of Architecture as a University course… “I realised that me liking architecture is a result of my love of people. I love engaging with and helping others, and I can do just that through the humanitarian kind of architecture. Have you heard of houses made out of a sturdy, water-proofed kind of cardboard that can be folded up and carried as a backpack? This means refugees can have homes! Just imagine, after having no security and familiarity of a home for so long, they finally can have a hooooome!”

Your eyes lit up as You shared all this with me and I’m pretty sure that wasn’t because the golden glows of the setting sun that shone onto You.

About halfway through dinner, we FaceTimed Alex and ‘coerced’ her into taking a selfie with us. It took many tries, but we finally got a decent one (featured above).



One more thing Jo, remember a few weeks ago when You blogged about beauty and quoted Erin McKean? I just wanted to let You know how much it spoke and meant to me. Thank You for sharing such precious and positive thoughts, they need to be heard, especially in a society where body-shaming is on the verge of becoming commonplace.

“You don’t have to be pretty. You don’t owe prettiness to anyone. Not to your boyfriend/spouse/partner, not to your co-workers, especially not to random men on the street. You don’t owe it to your mother, you don’t owe it to your children, you don’t owe it to civilization in general. Prettiness is not a rent you pay for occupying a space marked ‘female.'”

What a day to be alive. What a blessing to have You in my life.

More cheeky shots on Flickr!

Leave a Reply

