My New Picnic Pals

“A picnic is more than eating a meal, it is a pleasurable sate of mind.” 
― DeeDee Stovel, Picnic: 125 Recipes with 29 Seasonal Menus

In my head, the song of the evening was Óle by John Newman. Super chill and super calming, the sun danced through the small leaves of the trees around us, turning them saffron and dappling the grass around us with the ghosts of baby leaves.

My pals, they had really good taste in food: Pita, falafels, biscotti, dips, pumpkin, sweet potatoes, cucumber, tomatoes, pasta, cookies, energy bars, chocolate, and fruits! I certainly did leave the picnic feeling blissfully satiated. We played Categories too, wherein Hungarian chilli was considered a fruit and really accurate distinctions between categories needed to be made: Living or dead politician, Famous dead non-politician, Living non-politician celebrity, …

Ching, an effortless sweetheart, has such a beautiful smile and was great at getting people to talk about matters close to their heart; I definitely see a social worker in her. Alicia, who I met for the first time yesterday, was an absolutely sassy and gregarious Pokémon trainer with beautiful natural curls; definitely the life of the party. Amanda, whose voice I found warm and delightfully mellow, and whose butt was still hurting from a night of cycling (10pm – 8am), was ever excited about life (although not so much about Uni). Niki, who possesses a really chill and calming aura that I’ve always loved, arrived in a new, cute bob-like haircut; she had just ended her last day of work at Baker & Cook. Cheryl was everything I imagined her to be and more — selfless, kind, fearless and faithful; yesterday was the first time meeting her after months of online interaction. Miriam, who was as amiable, warm, friendly and lovely (lovelier than the beautiful dress she had on) as ever, was also the last person I bode farewell to after the picnic. We shopped for rice and soy milk, squealed over Coconut Bliss ice cream and updated each other a little about what was going on in each of our lives, but our conversation was cut short when the doors of the MRT opened at Holland Village. We hugged and I waved goodbye, smiling widely, as I walked out of the carriage and up the escalator.

“I don’t need a fancy party to be happy. Just good friends, good food, and good laughs. I’m happy. I’m satisfied. I’m content.” — Maria Sharapova

I had such a good evening, I’m so thankful I have these precious girls in my life.

More pictures on Flickr!

7 thoughts on “My New Picnic Pals

  1. YOU are so sweet :’) this was such a lovely read you are such a talented writer. I’m so glad to have met you again in person, considering the last time we properly talked was at Ms Tan’s farewell! Ive always known how compassionate you are, but through the picnic I learned that you have such a cute German accent HAHA and that you’re really funnY!!! But more than just being able to make people laugh you also have this vibe that makes people feel so comfortable and happy! Thanks for a lovely evening and being so generous in making the delicious banana bread^^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ching :’) Thank You for such a sweet compliment, it’s heartening to hear this from someone who inspires me to write (I’m a fan of Your blog’s!), to be kind and to selflessly love. Whatever You say and do always comes from a place of love, and I’ve always found this so inspiring. You’re a true gem, Ching, never change for anything/ anyone! Also, thank You for bringing the prunes and cereal (although getting carried away in lovely conversations led us to the cereal slipping our minds, so sorry about that)! Have a great week ahead, my dear dear friend. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your posts as always nat, and even more so when my name is mentioned hehehe. :’)) you’re such a lovely person through and through, and I’m so blessed to have gotten to know you in the weirdest of ways possible. Yet God is faithful and He brings angels into our lives in His time and plan. You’ve a lovely personality and a true inspiration for me and I believe, many others out there who craves for true freedom. I’m thoroughly blessed to have gotten to meet you precious souls too :’) ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • I mean every word I said, love ❤ 'Weirdest of ways possible' but I really wouldn't want it any other way. Life throws us off every now and then, I would have never guessed that You reaching out to me on social media would have led to this wonderfully blossoming friendship!! Life is great, hey! :') Stay strong and fearless, okay? Recovery is within reach, I'm here for You!

      Like

  3. AHAHAHA YOU bring TEARS to my eyes Nat !!!!!!! I love writing and even more so when it touches other people so thank you for your kind kind words Nat (: plus coming from such a great writer like yourself means so much to me. Maya Angelou once said, “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” And oh NOno I’M sorry about the cereal I was so forgetful! Well it just means we should have another vegan picnic again (maybe this time under the stars or like DESSERTS themed :o!!!!!)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ahhhhhh :’) Maya Angeloa quotes are the best aren’t they!!! I’m currently in the midst of reading ‘I know why the caged bird sings’ and I’ve been loving it thus far ❤ Thank You for sharing such a meaningful quote with me! I sure will never forget how warm and fuzzy inside You always make me feel :') DESSERTS THEMED OMG!!! We'd all have insane sugar rushes haha but then again, that ain't bad, hey! 😉

      Like

  4. You’re so sweet as always :’)) indeed this friendship is blossoming into something spectacular for the glory of God. ❤️ you too nat, keep inspiring, keep loving 💕💕💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

