Whose Birthday Is It?

tumblr_o0gg4hztpf1sp9j33o1_540

“Nenek, do you know whose birthday it is today?”

“No, is it yours, Tasa?”

“It is yours, Nenek!”

“Oh really! And how old am I today?”

“69,” I told her, followed by many many giggles from both ends of the line.

Today was my Grandma’s birthday, yet she forgot about it.
What she does remember daily, though, is to live in the moment, to live in the breath.
She has showed me that that’s enough.

Then maybe I must not always remember that I’m 20.
As long as I remember that I am alive in my living, wild in my wandering, a drop of free water.
Maybe that’d be enough, too.

Leave a Reply

