Mama And Wei, All In One Day

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

On the 1st of May, Papa and I woke up extra early because a VIP would be landing in the Munich airport shortly after 5am.

My Mama.

It was only 5 days since I last hugged her but seeing her again and being able to feel her warmth envelope my whole was a special moment. I suppose every one of her hugs is. There’s just something magical about my Mama’s hugs. I felt safe, I felt right. Nothing about it was wrong or… left, as Roald Dahl would’ve put it.

How perfect it would’ve been if my sister was here too. I know I shouldn’t be greedy, but  grant me some pardon, it’s human nature and I miss her more than anything.

Another someone who I’ve missed terribly was a dear friend, Yun Wei. We hadn’t seen each other in close to two months since I left for Singapore straight after taking my DSH exam.

She told me about her experience during her DSH — how she didn’t know how to say ‘hoolahoop’ in German so she said ‘großer Ring’ (big ring) and how she described a floating woman as ‘eine Frau, die in der Luft bleibt’ (a woman who remains in the air/ in mid-air), after which we dissolved into fits of laughter and suffered from stitches that ensued.

FullSizeRender-354FullSizeRender-356

Nothing changed about her or about us, really. She’s still witty, she’s still cheeky, she’s still wonderfully sassy. And we’re still good. Our friendship is doing well. And we still love to enjoy food together.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I had a delightful dish of asparagus risotto with a generous sprinkle of crunchy onions, flower petals and sprouts. I couldn’t believe how amazing it tasted. Wei couldn’t either!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Wei had a palatable plate of grilled avocados, grilled veggies, crispy tempeh, a sweet potato puree, which was topped with many many sprouts. Once again, we were blown away by just how incredible it tasted.

Gratitude, how do You always do this? You’ve done it again.

🍲

Leave a Reply

