How A Day In The Alps Plays Out

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

My eyes would usually flutter open upon the break of dawn, when the first rays of sunlight break through the heavens, but this day was different. I awoke at 5.30am to a world of light, a world of warmth and brightness. It took some eye-rubbing and papa-asking before I realised that the days get longer after the 21st of December and that the short days of Winter are no longer.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Our pristine white, snow-topped lawns are no longer either. Instead, there are dandelions sprouting everywhere. Did You know that their flowers were yellow, beautiful and very much petaloso? I didn’t, but now I do. Their presence is so day-brightening, both figuratively and literally.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I had really fresh strawberries for breakfast. Not all of it, although I really could if I wanted to. The whole tray of them costed me no more than 3€ (~S$4.65). Insane, considering I’d usually find myself about S$17 – 20 poorer if I were to buy such a tray of rosy deliciousness in Singapore. I like this about Europe – virtually  no import costs for berries, but of course, unless they come from Spain or Chile or the USA.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

“Papa, these are the leaves of a strawberry plant. So these must be the flowers of a strawberry? They’re white!! I had a hunch they’d be pink… red?!”

“Genau, Erdbeeren!”
(“Exactly, strawberries!”)

I never ever thought I’d find strawberries growing in my backyard. I suppose the deers or the cats who frequent our backyard helped pollinate them…

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Nothing too fancy for breakfast – a base of banana-coco oatmeal, sprinkled with Tru-Nut PB powder and topped with chopped dried prunes, chopped Medjool dates, sliced strawberries and banana coins. It was magical. Everything in Spring pretty much is.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The sun really came out strong after breakfast. The rays illuminated and brightened everything on Earth — the flowers, the grass, the trees, the water… the humans. Like that feeling You get when someone special enters Your life — everything suddenly seems brighter, like someone turned the light switch on.

Dad went down to take pictures of the newly bloomed lavender and crocuses. He wanted to share them with our family back in Singapore. He shared everything from a sunrise in the morning to a sunset in the evening, a bloom in Spring to a fallen leaf in Autumn, a newly bought shirt to a newly polished shoe. I guess it was from Dad that I learned that happiness can only be enjoyed when shared with people who mean something to You.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

He loves life.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Look at us, said the violets blooming at her feet, all last winter we slept in the seeming death but at the right time God awakened us, and here we are to comfort you. — Edward Payson Rod

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I found an empty snail shell amongst the dandelions, cleaned it, and now it sits in front of me on my kitchen counter 134km away in Munich.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The clouds came by to say hello during lunch but it wasn’t enough to dim my spirits for I had a bowl of long-grain rice, baked paprika-spiced broccoli and grilled tomatoes, drizzled with some homemade sweet peanut sauce in my hands. I had two or three more servings after my first — I was unstoppable! I mean, it was really good. 😉

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Peace, love and sunshine.
Life is good.
Xx

4 thoughts on “How A Day In The Alps Plays Out

  1. Pingback: How Another Day In The Alps Plays Out | Stefanie Natascha

  2. Pingback: In A Field Of Wildflowers | Stefanie Natascha

Leave a Reply

