Hello Spring, Nice To Meet You

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Dans un pays loin d’ici
À la recherche du paradis
Dans un pays loin d’ici
On chante, on chante

On chante et on danse et on rit
On s’élance, réuni
Enivré, dans l’imprudence

which translates to…

In a land far from here
Searching for paradise
In a land far from here
We sing, we sing

We sing and we dance and we laugh
We leap, meeting
In inebriated carelessness


On Monday, Dad and I touched down in Munich. Spring has taken over this city by storm. We took the train back to our apartment and the 32-minute ride was spent intently gazing out of the window as we marvelled at the blooming fields of rapeseed in all its glory, punctuated by soft oooohs and aaaahs and one or two oh my goodnesses.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’ve been obsessed with Zoë’s Loin d’ici. She (well, technically her song) was chosen to represent Austria for Eurovision 2016. From the way it makes me want to smile to the way it makes my heart flutter to the way it makes me want to dance in the sun while humming its light-hearted tune  — It’s still on my bucketlist to pick up the sexy French language. One day. — I know for sure that it’ll be my theme song for Spring this year. Have You found Yours?

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’m home, sort of. Home never really is where my family isn’t.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

We hopped into the car and off we went to Austria. We’ve missed the greens and blues and whites of the Alps. There’s nothing quite like it, especially not in a concrete jungle. Dad was behind the wheels and I love it when he’s behind the wheels. It’s not because he drives so well, I mean, he does, but it’s because of his love for adventure and his desire to share it with me that I adore so much. He drives to places, sees things and would take the time to explain it to me. He’s so patient and so very loving. He grew up on a farmland in a small village nearby Frankfurt and he knows things. A lot of things, like birds and flowers and crops and soil types and clouds and weather in general.

There’s so much I yearn to learn from him. May his spirit always live within me wherever I may be or wherever he may be. I never want to live a day without the zest of life which lives within him.

137fs6

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

All I want is an open heart on an open road.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

We saw farmers bringing in wood from the forest, …

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

… and Roman-esque highway bridges, which Dad jokingly said we wouldn’t have seen if I had not insisted we drop by the highway resting station for a trip to the toilet (which was true) among many other sights which knocked every wisp of air from my lungs. They were that beautiful. I’ll include them in my posts in the near future. I can’t wait to share them with You. 🙂

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Zoom zoom zooooom, 2.5-ish hours later, we reached our little hideout in the Alps.

Leave a Reply

