Grain Traders & Well-Dressed Salad Bars

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

There’s something about arriving in new cities, wandering empty streets with no destination. I will never lose the love for the arriving, but I’m born to leave. ― Charlotte Eriksson, Empty Roads & Broken Bottles; in search for The Great Perhaps

Sunday marked the end of my 8-week stint in Singapore. Well, it was almost 8 weeks.

It was time to leave (again) but before I did, I spent the Friday before wandering the Lau Pa Sat, Telok Ayer and Chinatown area, i.e. it was my last adventure on this sometimes-too-sunny island before my departure. I snapped photos, gobbled down good grain bowls and sipped fresh coconuts among other things. It was a good way to end my visit to this beautiful island.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I met these cool chaps and I don’t know about You but they look like they’d be named Chulie (like Julie with a tch), Chames (like James with a tch), Chap, Charlie and Cherry. Maybe it’s my synaesthetic mind that’s making me think this way — the defined edges where they should be smooth and the dullness of their colours gave me the sensation of a sharp choking-type discomfort and the feeling of a creamy puddle-y liquid.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This day was to be spent with Goo. Why do I always find myself on food adventures with You? Not that I’m complaining. 😛 Let’s go for more.

The first stop was Grain Traders at 138 Market Street, aka. opposite the famous Lau Pa Sat. I remember how I used to always laugh at the mere mention of “Lau Pa Sat” during the sessions of SG’s version of Monopoly that I used to play when I was much younger. I wonder where the game board disappeared to. It must be hiding under the many 5 to 10 thousand-piece puzzles I used to be obsessed with piecing together during that period.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The queue stretched for quite a bit but it moved swiftly. Thankfully, for Goo and I were starving.

Their normal bowls are served this way: 1 Grain, 1 Protein, 1 Hot Veggie, 2 Cold Veggies , 1 choice of Topping and a single sauce to drizzle over everything.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

They served each bowl in a school-cafeteria type of service: we’d line up for our food and along the way to the cashier, we’d pass by the grain, protein, veggie and topping stations, while being asked at each station what we’d like in our bowl. Similar to Subway.

I chose brown rice for my Grain, lentil patties for my Protein, roasted butternut squash and sweet potato for my Hot Veggie, a bean sprout salad and apple kimchi for my two Cold Veggies and toasted crushed rice to top it all off. I opted to go without the sauce because I feel that sauces usually take over the taste of the entire dish, leaving me unable to enjoy the different tastes of the individual components.

I was a little confused as to why squash and sweet potato was being considered a veggie and a little googling led me to realising that this is part of The Great Potato Debate‘Potatoes are botanically classified as a vegetable, but they are classified nutritionally as a starchy food,’ says a DoH spokesperson. ‘This is because when eaten as part of a meal, they are generally used in place of other starchy carbohydrates, such as bread, pasta or rice.’

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

It tasted really really fresh and really really good. I’ll definitely be back for a visit when I come back next time. 🙂

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

During lunch at Grain Traders, Goo mentioned that there was a Vegan-friendly cafe/ bistro nearby that had amazing reviews for their cakes, brownies and donuts, so we thought, “Why not?!”  😉 We walked the 2 or so kilometres over to Well Dressed Salad Bar & Cafe.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

#MeatlessDoesn’tMeanTasteless

There, we were greeted by arguably one of the most upbeat servers I’ve ever met. He was madly in love with the Matcha Cake and the Passionfruit Cake and the Earlgrey Lavender Cake and the Vanilla Cake they had up for sale. He basically loved everything and was so entertainingly enthusiastic about simply everything. He made us enthusiastic about simply everything too.

That was how we ended leaving the cafe with two slices of cake each: one passionfruit slice and one matcha slice, after having sat down in the cafe for a fresh coconut each and the tasting of Goo’s superduper crispy cookies.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Goo replaced the raisins with cacao nibs and my oh my, they tasted exactly like (or possibly even better than) the regular chocolate chips. Thanks again for letting me try them, my dear friend! 🙂

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Till we meet again, bye!!

😘

2 thoughts on “Grain Traders & Well-Dressed Salad Bars

Leave a Reply

