‘Happeaness’ In A Red Dot Museum

IMG_6856

I went to the reddest of red buildings in Singapore last week for a visit to MAAD (Market Of Artists And Designers) with my dear friend, Uma. (Meeting Ronice was a complete surprise! — More on that below…) The last time I met her was before I migrated to Munich when we shared a lunch with another dear friend of mine, Charlotte.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

We spent not too long walking around before we realised that the whole ‘walking around while catching up with and paying attention to each other’ wasn’t as easy as we thought it would have been, so we sat ourselves down at an open space in the middle of all the exhibits. There, we were mistaken for customers and I realised that the succulents used to decorate the tables weren’t the real deal, but above all, we managed to find the time and space to share a little of our lives with each other. Uma is a gem, and I sure was blessed to have such a soul touch my life in the way she always does.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

While the things we shared were matters of the heart and would better be kept sheltered in the abyss of our hearts, I sure would love to share a few of my favourite moments while perusing the many exhibits set up at MAAD.

Sampling ‘Peater’ & ‘SeSaPea’

Certified Vegan by Vegan.org, Green Pea Cookie was founded in San Francisco by two food-loving Singaporeans and an imaginative American.

I quote, “The cookies are sweet, salty, crunchy, creamy and sure to peas the toughest of cookies. Kids of all ages, pea-haters, foodies, Vegans, gluten-free peaple and peaple with no dietary requirements or preferences love them because in each one is the simple reminder to enjoy life’s little peasures.”

I sampled Peater, the original-flavoured cookie, and SeSaPea, the sesame-flavoured cookie. I love both so much but settled for the original flavour, thinking my family would like them a tad bit more. 😛

The stall keepers addressed their cookies by their names — all while keeping a straight face, as if there was nothing out of the ordinary about it. I loved it haha!

So I bought Peater and according to the box it came with, Peater is The World’s Happeaest CookiePeater is the original green pea cookie. I quote, “Before the company was founded, Peater moved to California all the way from Singapore. A super happea cookie and a little snarky, Peater loves rolling around, rap music and travelling. He’s on a mission to spread peasitivity and heappeaness around the world.”

Read more about Peater on their blog and get to know the rest of the green pea gang — SeSaPea, Dimpea & Penelopea!

An Unexpected Reunion

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

On our way out, we came across a lovely little booth along the periphery of the museum. They had beautiful stickers and post cards on display, and it was only moments later when the booth owner came around to greeting us that I realised that all of it belonged to an even more beautiful (long-lost) friend of mine – Ronice.

Yes, the very Ronice whom I went to tuition with several years ago and with whom I lost contact after having parted on our last day of combined tuition in Secondary school.

We spent the next few minutes filling each other on things we’ve missed out on in each others’ lives before taking selfies for memories and exchanging our numbers to make sure we wouldn’t exit each others’ lives as easily this time round. Before our goodbyes, I bought a lovely wolf sticker (which had “COURAGE” artistically typed over it on it), a purple-hued hexagonal sticker (which had words that read, “The Sun is Rising”) and a sweet postcard (which had The Little Prince quote, “It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye,” printed on it).

All the best for Uni applications, my dear friend!

The Menstrual Cup that Grants Freedom

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Uma and I spent about 10 minutes at this lady’s booth – she was an absolute darling about sharing her passion for the environment and for improving the quality of lives of the women in third-world countries. She was so right! We don’t care about them enough! We don’t care enough to find out that they actually use ash from their cooking or fine wood chips as ‘pads’ during their periods. We don’t care enough to realise that girls even have to miss school because handling their periods outside of home is unthinkable.

The lady also informed us that the organisation works on a buy-1, give-1 model where every cup purchased allows them to give a cup to a woman in an underprivileged community.

Hearing about all of that alone was enough for me to be sold on purchasing this product, and when I thought it couldn’t get any better, she told us that…

  1. The menstrual cups are made from FDA approved, medical-grade German Wacker silicone, which is the type of silicone used in heart transplants, aka. ABSOLUTELY safe!
  2. It lasts up to 10-15 years. (So wallet-friendly!)
  3. I can cartwheel, swim or sleep in any position and it would still be 100% leak-free.
  4. Using the cup won’t give me discomfort in any way.
  5. I can effectively reduce my carbon footprint by minimising waste.
  6. The cups are slightly smaller than the international average, with softer more malleable silicone. (A big plus for petite females!) (But, they have other sizes too so if anyone needs a bigger cup, e.g. post-child-birth, they’d have the right cup for them too!)
  7. NO RISK OF TOXIC SHOCK SYNDROME.

However much I wanted to get the menstrual cup for myself, I felt like I needed to mentally prepare myself for the invasiveness of this product. I went home that day empty-handed but with a mind full of topics to share with the females in my house and of course the females in my social circle, too. 🙂

The best part is that freedom cups.org offers worldwide shipping, so I definitely won’t have to worry about not being able to get my hands on this amazing product in the near future!

Peace, love and sunshine.

Have a great day, my friends!

😎

7 thoughts on “‘Happeaness’ In A Red Dot Museum

Leave a Reply

