Those Aren’t Roses, They’re Succulents

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

The world is a great big place where we stumble like children, learning to walk. The world is a bright mosaic where we learn like children, to see, where our little blurry eyes strive greedily to take in as much light and love and colour and detail as they possibly possibly can.

The world is a coaxing whisper where the wind caresses the trees, the sea licks the shore, animals burrow into the earth and people look up at the twinkling blinking sympathetic stars.

I love being in the midst of giant rocks. The vastness reminds me of how tiny I am, and how much I don’t yet understand. Truly, as John Muir said and as it has been many times mentioned in Instagram/ Facebook captions, “The mountains are calling and I must go”.

I asked Dad what the mistiness at the base of the mountains was. Were they clouds? Or was it a fog? Dad said it was the water vapour which had evaporated from the lakes in between the Alps. We were having such a warm and sunny day, it was no wonder!

Can You see them in the faraway distance? The roads seemed to converge and point me right to where the magnificent mountains were residing, almost like a runway.

We had about an hour or two before we reached our snug abode in the mountains and so I granted myself some alone time with my thoughts and I began jotting down whatever that came to mind – what I would do when I would come into contact with fresh snow on the mountains (snow angels maybe!!), how lovely it would have been if Mum and my little sister were here too, guesses of possible weather conditions at the place we were headed to, groceries I would buy in Maximarkt to last Dad and I the weekend and quotes which the beautiful rocky mountains reminded me of

I like the mountains because they make me feel small,’ Jeff says. ‘They help me sort out what’simportant in life. – Mark Obmascik, Halfway to Heaven: My White-knuckled–and  Knuckleheaded – Quest for the Rocky Mountain High

What are men to rocks and mountains? – Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

We are now in the mountains and they are in us, kindling enthusiasm, making every nerve quiver, filling every pore and cell of us. – John Muir, My First Summer in the Sierra

Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn. – John Muir, The Mountains of California

I love John Muir’s mind, can You tell?

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

“Those aren’t roses, they’re succulents!” That was what Dad said as I squealed, “We have roses growing here, Papa! Roses!” over a patch of tiny rose-like plants which I saw for the first time as I stepped out of the car on Saturday evening. We had spent 3 hours and 12 minutes on the road and to have been able to finally stretch my legs while being welcomed by these sweet succulents was pretty close to the bliss if You ask me.

Ahh nature is so wonderfully confusing and endlessly mesmerising.

People from a planet without flowers would think we must be mad with joy the whole time to have such things about us. – Iris Murdoch

It was about 6.09pm when we got back home after running all our to-be-settled-asap errands and we were planning to rush back to Munich that day – within the speed limits of course. Austrians are very strict when it comes to keeping within speed limits.

It was to be a quick trip back before sundown.

More pictures on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

