Coco-Pitaya ‘Smoothie’ Bowl

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I had so so many, too many things on my agenda that day. Prep for TMS, packing/ unpacking, Vocabulary practice, essays, trip planning, … and it left me with very little time for meals BUT I knew my body deserves to be treated well nonetheless, so I opted for shortcuts, many many shortcuts, while still managing to provide myself with a well-balanced day of eating.

For one, I didn’t use the blender at all, as You probably have gathered by now… I did not allow myself the time of toasting the desiccated coconut and I also did not spend too much time plucking the stems which were still attached to some of the blueberries (whoopsies)! Either way, it was delicious, nutritious and an absolutely good-for-me deconstructed smoothie bowl, aka the perfect mid-day snack.

Pssssst, Pitaya is another term for ‘Dragon fruit’! Dragon…? Yes dragon fruit, but no, this is not a myth from the medieval times where knights save princesses from fire-breathing dragons and win the coveted Dragon fruit from a magical Dragon tree. 😉

Ah and in case You were wondering, the beautiful painting accompanying my delicious ‘smoothie’ bowl was done by my lovely talented little sister. She’s got a knack for these things. :’)

Dragon fruits have never been something I regularly had in my diet earlier on, but a dear friend’s love for them led me to discovering my own love for this funky fruit! Dragon fruits bring back very fond memories, one being a picnic I shared with Miriam and Niki at Botanics. Miriam had brought dragon fruits for us to share but had forgotten to bring along a knife to slice them open haha! I remember her rolling the fruit in her palms, trying to find a way to use her fingers to get past the ‘scaly’ skin guarding the lovely juicy flesh underneath.

“Ah I got it!” she said as she pulled the skin apart by pulling down on one of the ‘scales’. Hahaha I remember all of us dissolved in laughter for the next few minutes! Desperate times truly do produce the best of ideas, don’t You agree? Needless to say, Miriam’s survival skills are on point. 😉 And so that has been how I’ve been handling dragon fruits ever since and it was no exception on this day as I got to making this ‘lazy’ version of a smoothie bowl!

In tropical and subtropical regions in South America and Asia, the dragon fruit flourishes and grows in abundance. Appropriately named, the dragon fruit’s outer skin is cactus-like, resembling that of the scales of a mythical dragon. Considered a cactus plant, its vibrant green and reddish-pink hues indicate that the fruit is full of nutrients, while the creamy white or sometimes hot hot pink flesh spotted with black seeds gives way to many rich and natural properties.

These fun-looking fruits are rich in vitamin C, B1, B2 and B3, and minerals such as iron, calcium, and phosphorus. This is most definitely one of the best “super fruits” out there.

It also has an extremely low amount of cholesterol and is an excellent source of monounsaturated fats, thus helping the heart stay in great condition. It has a high fibre content, which can assist with poor digestion and constipation AND also help regulate diabetes. It contains good protein and antioxidants which rid the body of free radicals and cancer-producing properties; Dragon fruit is giving Acai berries a run for their money! Furthermore, it is anti-inflammatory and thus reduces irritating joint problems!

Ingredients:

  • 1 chopped Pitaya
  • 1 chopped Banana OR half a chopped Mango (that’d be a lovely alternative!)
  • 2 Strawberries
  • A handful of blueberries
  • A sprinkle of desiccated coconut
  • A sprinkle of Chia seeds
  • ½ – ¾ cup Coconut-Rice Milk (any other plant-based milk would work too!)

*The delicious Coconut-Rice Milk was hiding below the the lovely pink dragon fruit cubes. 🙂

If I could, I would have included a squirt of fresh lemon or maybe even half a passion fruit! I could imagine that the sour would pair perfectly with the sweet. :’) Yum!

*This was a recipe fit for a snack. Simply double or triple the recipe to make it a meal if You so wish. 🙂

How I wish dragon fruits were cheaper in Europe and that they aren’t treats that I allow myself to get while in Asia!

One thought on “Coco-Pitaya ‘Smoothie’ Bowl

  1. Pingback: ‘Tropitaya’ Chia Pudding | Stefanie Natascha

Leave a Reply

