My Current Breakfast idée fixe; Choco-Coco-Caramel Oatmeal

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Quite frankly speaking, after a 3-, 4- or maybe 5-month hiatus of any hint of coconut in my meals, I must admit that I miss the rich taste of a good ol’ coconut. There’s just something about the way it tastes so… so… indescribably exotic and simply wonderful in all its tropical ways. I miss it so much so that anything coconut-based has become an idée fixe of mine lately.

idée fixe    ˌiːdeɪ ˈfiːks/    noun
An idea or desire that dominates the mind (and in my case, my tummy too);
An obsession.

I suppose, then, that it is, therefore, no surprise to You that I’ve spent the last few breakfasts trying to perfect my recipe for a warm, fuzzy-wuzzy bowl of Choco-Coco-Caramel Oatmeal.

I’m proud to finally say that I’ve come up with one that has left my taste buds and the Miss Health in me really really pleased! A win-win situation if You ask me!

Now here’s what You’ll need:

  • 4-5 tbsp Rolled Oats
  • 1 mashed, beautifully ripe Banana
  • ½ – ¾ cup Coconut-Rice Milk (the more liquid You add, the more watery Your oatmeal becomes) OR 50-50 Coconut Milk + Water
  • 2-3 chopped Medjool Dates (provides sweetness & the caramel flavour)
  • ½ – ¾ tbsp Cacao/ Carob Powder
  • A dash of cinnamon (Optional)
  • 1 tbsp Psyllium Husk (Optional, simply used to thicken oatmeal and to add a generous kick of fibre)

**If You’d like to have it with vanilla flavour rather than chocolate, simply leave the Cacao/ Carob Powder out of the oatmeal and sub it for 1/4 – 1/2 tsp ground Vanilla.

Cook the oatmeal mix in a saucepan for a couple of minutes (7-12 minutes) on low/ medium heat, then pour it into Your favourite bowl before adding any toppings You’d like.

x

One thought on “My Current Breakfast idée fixe; Choco-Coco-Caramel Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Crunchy Munchy Maple-Nut Granola | Stefanie Natascha

Leave a Reply

