Quinoa-Chickpea Rosemary Falafels

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I remember the first time I ever had falafels, or mediterranean food for that matter. Up until that point, I had literally never heard of falafel or pita and had yet to jump on the hummus bandwagon. It was all a mystery to me. That all changed when I visited Gratitude in Munich. It isn’t even a mediterranean restaurant! BUT it is a delightful little cafe with some of the best Vegan food in the world, if I may say so myself. 😉

On a total whim, I somehow crafted a falafel recipe that blew my mind away. They were so so simple to make and turned out to be some pretty tasty, guilt-free, crunchy-on-the-outside, tender-on-the-inside spheres of deliciousness. I’ve been waiting patiently to share this recipe with You guys and I can’t take it any longer!

I started with boiled chickpeas, an absolute darling of a legume, which I smashed into a moosh. Next I added mashed baked sweet potato (You could steam them too, but they’re muchhhh sweeter if baked), cooked red quinoa (any quinoa would suffice!), black pepper, rosemary, parsley. I went right into the bowl with my hands and got them all well-combined.

I apologise. I really cannot give You exact measurements of anything because doing so would take the magic away out of falafels. Falafels are made out of random ratios, disordered sequences and messy put-togethers of plant-based proteins, starches and spices which somehow just work. Falafels are special like that. They’re a little different every time and that’s the way I love it. Why? Because that means every time I enter the kitchen with the intention to create some mediterranean magic, I’d be entering a previously untouched territory of flavours. Ahhh the beautiful element of surprise!

Roll them into little delightful spheres – as big or as small as You’d like them – or flatten them into flat patties if that’s what Your heart desires. 🙂 I reckon they’d make excellent Veggie patties too!

Lay them out on a parchment paper-lined baking tray and bake it in the oven, which was pre-heated to 175°C, for 35 minutes. Once that’s done, allow them to cool and crisp up for 5-10 minutes. Patience, my love.

Savoury, simple, seriously satisfying.

While we’re still on the alliteration of “S”s, let’s talk about Sssssongs. Aurora’s “Conqueror” and Jain’s “Come” are my current happy pills. They’re such feel-good, groovy tunes, perhaps they’d put a smile on Your face too. 🙂

I made up one big batch last weekend and I’ve been having one or two or six (hahaha) here and there as a quick snack or as a side in an easy lunch. These would go fabulous tucked inside fluffy pita with greens, tomato and a generous serving of freshly-made hummus.

There’s just something so substantial about falafels and the flavours of Mediterranean cuisine lend themselves perfectly to toppings and sauces galore.

I’m kind of smitten with these falafels.

Can You tell?

Leave a Reply

