Chocoloco Energy Bars

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

My head has been spinning, spinning, like coco-locoyou-go-glen-coco kind of spinning. My head has been spinning because of all this indulging I’ve been doing! I’ve been treating myself, yes I have! One of the best kinds of head-spinning situations if You ask me. Well You see, I don’t have a thing for store-bought chocolate bars because of all the refined/ processed/ artificial chemicals, preservatives, random fillers, suspicious dies or GMOs – simply put, NASTIES – in them. What I do have a thing for though, is my nutritious home-made Chocoloco Energy Bars made out of wholesome, 100% natural, unrefined, unprocessed, Vegan goodness.

“Datteln für den Power bar; macht das Leben wunderbar!” (English: “Dates for the Power bar, makes life wonderful!”) — Dad

Dad uttered this quote when I shared my excitement about having created these little bars of joy with him. 🙈 How delightful are his thoughts!

Another thing which has been making my head spin with confusion is the concept of ‘treating material’ versus the concept of ‘treating oneself’

(1) ‘Treating material’ means “to put a special substance on material such as wood, cloth, metal, etc. or put it through a special process, in order to PROTECT it from damage or decay”.

(2) ‘Treating oneself’, on the other hand, conventionally means to “do or have something that gives one great pleasure”. An extension to this understanding is “to consume foods which are extremely off the rails of a healthy, mindful and balanced lifestyle”. In essence, ‘treating’ in this sense equates to ‘harming’ or ‘damaging’. By no means does ‘treating’ equate ‘protecting (against illness/ ailments/ etc.)’ or ‘being beneficial (to one’s well-being)’.

Why the disparity in definition?

With this in mind, let’s get into it! Let’s get into treating out bodies with respect and kindness, without skimping on the pleasures of life – one of which I experienced last week when I trialled a batch of these Chocoloco Energy Bars for the very first time. One bite in and I knew this had to be shared with my lovely readers. This recipe is a rockstar and I hope You’d love it as much as I do!

Ingredients:

½ cup Oats
½ tsp Cinnamon
1 tbsp Chia seeds
1 tbsp Cacao Powder
1 tbsp Psyllium Husk
½ tsp Ground Vanilla
5 chopped Medjool Dates
1 tbsp Desiccated Coconut

Step 1: Mix all dry ingredients together.

Step 2: If Your Medjool dates aren’t mooshy, soak them in hot water for about 10-15 minutes before chopping them. Then add the chopped Medjool dates to the dry ingredients and get Your hands dirty! Squish, mooosh, squash, squelch! Ensure all components are well incorporated together.

Step 3: Line a freezer-friendly tupperware with baking paper and transfer the sticky mixture into the lined tupperware. Apply pressure onto the mixture and spread it out evenly throughout the base of the tupperware. Once that’s done, cover the tupperware and place it in the freezer for 30-60 minutes, depending on how thick the bars are.

Step 4: Once the bars are slightly hardened, take them out of the freezer and use a knife to slice the large piece of sticky goodness into the desired shapes of Your energy bars!

That’s pretty much it. Just 9 ingredients, no baking involved unless you want to toast the oats and they’ll keep in the freezer for-ev-er and ev-er (that is, if you can resist them for that long). 😉

My favourite part about making these or energy bars in general? I get to use my hands and feel like a kid again. Even though my hands are a sticky mess afterwards, it’s so soooo worth it. I took these bad boys out of the freezer about an hour later andddd the crowd went wild!!!

The base for these bars are dates – a sweetener supah powah found in good ol’ nature. It definitely is a great option to use in place of processed sugar whenever possible (from personal experience, it has always been possible). Dates not only provides an irresistibly sweet bite, but also acts as the supah dupah glue that holds it all together!

The result was a simple, healthy energy bar that was…

Tender with a slight crunch, because who wouldn’t love an unexpected pop of a chia seed, right?
Rich, hearty, dense and decadent, which goes to show nourishing foods can be equally tasty if done right!
Raw, meaning the ingredients are not heated above 40°C in order to preserve the vitamins and nutrients – more of the good stuff makes it into Your body. Win-win!
Super chocolatey, because Cacao is an out-of-this-world superfood and our tastebuds will thank us!
Perfectly sweet, because who doesn’t love a perfectly nutritious, perfectly guilt-free punch of natural sugars?
Mega filling and incredibly satisfying, meaning those mid-morning or afternoon slumps can be easily conquered!
Loaded with wholesome, seriously good-for-you ingredients – think antioxidants, fibre, protein and healthy fats – because our bodies deserve to be well-respected and well-treated.
Ridiculously delicious – like a raw brownie kind of delicious – because that’s what the whole eating experience is about.

… just the way I like it.

I made a batch two days ago and am already down to one-quarter of ONE bar. How I exercised the self control to save one quarter of a bar is beyond me. But by tomorrow it most likely won’t be there anymore, if I know myself at all.

These are great to have around for a healthier dessert, an on-the-go snack or a post-workout nibble, because they keep you full for hours and don’t provide a sugar overload. I like to keep a batch in my freezer in case I have to run out the door and know I’ll be hungry later. Please tell me I’m not the only 20-year-old who packs snacks for outings? Please?

Psssst! Because they travel well, they make an absolutely fantastic treat to bring along to parties too!

This could very well be my definition of a hearty, dreamy, guilt-free indulgence. They’re really just kind of perfect. 

image

< Credits >

More shots on Flickr.

Have a great week ahead, my dear readers!

Leave a Reply

