I Toss Pancakes On Valentine’s Day

 

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

If there’s one thing You should know about me right up front, it’s that I love breakfast time, I always have. With oatmeals, smoothie bowls, chia puddings, pancakes, fruit loaves, what’s there not to love? You probably know, too, that oatmeals have always been my favourite type of breakfast, but there’s something about a moist, steaming, fluffy stack of pancakes covered in warm berries that makes getting up that little bit easier too.

I love Valentine’s Day, too. I do. I love it. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve had my personal love affair with Valentine’s Day. Every year on the 14th of February, with enthusiasm, I watched my ‘very’ romantic father either bring my mother a little rectangular box filled with Ferrero Rochers or a sweet, simple rose. Yea Dad does this every chance he gets and not only on Valentine’s Day, but call me crazy, I hear angels singing when Dad does this on Valentine’s.

I love the idea of baking for family and friends, I love the idea of getting myself/ friends discounted goodies the day after. It’s pleasant to be surrounded by heart-shaped reminders to tell each other we love one another and that we are important in each other’s lives.

Perhaps the ones upset about Valentine’s Day are the very ones who think it can only be celebrated with a romantic partner. They probably build it up as some yearly survey to decide whether or not they are worthy of being loved (which they are), then yea, I can imagine why it could be pretty depressing… but if one shifts their focus from “Oh my I have no romantic partner for Valentine’s.” to “Ahhh look at all the people around me who I can sprinkle some love onto!” because, hey, family and friends are actually deserving of affection as well – it could really be a rather pleasant day, especially if You were to have Leslie Clio’s “My Heart Ain’t That Broken” playing in the background. 😉

Valentine’s Day is exactly what we want it to be. If we want it to be a shameful, chocolate-smeared day of self-pity and envy, it can be. If we want it to be a day that represents love and treating each other – and ourselves – to something a little special, it can be. There’s no reason to hold to some ridiculous notion of an obligation to be in a happy romantic relationship to enjoy things. Life is, after all, a reflection of our thoughts.

So here’s me showing You readers a little bit of love by sharing one of my easiest pancake recipes. No kidding, the base recipe consists of only three ingredients!! Alright let’s get down to business. Breakfast is serious business, don’t You agree? 😉

Ingredients:

1 cup Oat Flour
1 cup plant-based Milk
1 large/ 2 medium ripe Banana(s)

Instructions:

First up, pour a cup of oat flour (this could easily be achieved by blending a cup of oats until it reaches flour consistency) into a blender/ food processor, then we add some wholesome partners in crime including a cup of plant-based milk (I used oat milk this time round and am planning to use coconut-rice milk next time, yum!!), and a large ripe banana/ 2 medium ripe bananas.

That was the base recipe. Now let’s jazz things up with optional dashes of cinnamon, ground vanilla, chia seeds, ground flax seeds, ground nuts, psyllium husk, or anything else really! (To sweeten the mix, consider maple syrup!) That’s the beauty of this recipe – You can reasonably add anything into the mix. Adjust the taste of the pancake mix to however You’d like it. Caution: This step may include a lot of finger-licking. 😉

**I was pretty tame this time round and opted only for a dash of cinnamon, a dash of ground vanilla and a tablespoon of psyllium husk.

Now all that’s left to do is to toss these babies on a pan! I used a non-stick ceramic pan, so I didn’t require the use of any oil on the pan. However, if I were to have to use some oil, I’d probably opt for coconut oil because it not only is incredibly beneficial for Your health, but it would also go really well with the taste of the pancakes.

These pancakes were dreamy, almost as dreamy as Dylan O’Brien or perhaps Shawn Mendes. (Don’t judge.) The batter is somewhat thick and light and they cook up all soft and fluffy, golden brown and bursting with cinnamon aroma (if You added as much cinnamon as I did that is, haha I love this phenomenal spice!).

I was keeping my stack warm in the oven while the rest finished cooking and each time I opened the oven door, I got hit with a sweet, pleasant, floral (because of the vanilla) scent! They were begging to be doused in the hearty juice berries. So that’s what I did. I don’t argue with the breakfast gods when they make such a clear request.

Berry Compote:

I proceeded with pouring about two handfuls of frozen berries into a saucepan and subsequently added about one and a half tablespoons of water, before simply heating the saucepan up with medium heat. I stirred it around with a spoon several times until finally the mixture began to bubble and ever so slightly sizzle. All that was left to do was pour it over my impatiently waiting pancakes.

These pancakes were perfection: the perfect balance of fluffy and dense. They were easy peasy to make and so worth the 20-minute effort. They produce a surprisingly small mess of dishes, too! Not bad for pancakes that cram all of the flavour of homemade, slow-prepared banana muffins into Every. Fluffy. Bite.

The laziest man I ever met put popcorn in his pancakes so they would turn over by themselves. – W. C. Fields

I cannot attest to the truth in what W. C. Fields said, but I sure would love to find out! 😉

Mhmmm, so good once it hits your lips. Muahhh, spread the love! Happy Valentine’s Day!

More yummy shots on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

