Heavenly Happynola

image

Food makes me happy the way the warm sun makes, the way seeing someone smile, and the way hugging someone I love makes me happy… 

“Mama, Papa, You won’t believe this – I used cashew butter and coconut flakes and… seeds! Mama, Papa, I am  S O  V E R Y  happy!” I said, with my hands cupping my face and my lips fixed in a wide grin.

“Me too,” Dad said. Staring back at me over the Skype video call window, I could still see the way the past stings him – the past when I used to harbour a destructive relationship with food and body image. I could see it in his eyes even though his lips were curled up into a smile. Cashew butter, coconut flakes, and seeds were one of the many things I used to cry over having eaten. Now I look at them with love and appreciation for all the wonderful things they’re doing for my healing body, mind, and soul.

Heavenly Granola Clusters.

image

First up, crank up the oven’s temperature to 125°C.

First, set up Two Door Cinema Club’s “Undercover Martyn” for replay. 😉

Now, crank the oven’s temperature up to 125°C.

Wet Ingredients:

2 flax/ chia eggs
1 tbsp 100% nut butter
1 mashed ripe medium-sized banana
5-7 chopped Medjool dates (add maple syrup if desired)

Dry Ingredients:

1 cup rolled oats
2 tbsp cacao powder
1 tbsp psyllium husk
1-2 tbsp coconut flakes
1 tbsp desiccated coconut
¼ tsp ground vanilla
½ tsp cinnamon

Instructions:
  1. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients (use Your hands!).
  2. You should get a mixture that doesn’t stick to the mixing bowl – not too wet and not too dry either. (You should be able to sort of ‘crumble’ it up if You rubbed parts of the mixture against each other.)
  3. Crumble the mixture over a baking paper-lined baking tray and pop the tray right into the 125°C oven.
  4. Leave it in the oven for about 60-80 minutes, depending on Your oven. Check often!
  5. Take the baking tray out of the oven and let the happynola cool till it reaches the stage of absolutely delightful crunchiness. This should take a maximum of 10 to 15 minutes. Patience is a virtue!

*It is of utmost importance that the granola cools COMPLETELY before You store it in an AIR-TIGHT container.

I just came up with the wackiest idea: this could very well be the crumble of a crumble dish! That would make for a happy crumble and a happier tummy!

image

“She was like a drowning person, flailing, reaching for anything that might save her. Her life was an urgent, desperate struggle to justify her life.” – Jonathan Safran Foer, Everything Is Illuminated

I was like a drowning person, flailing, reaching for anything that anyone who might save me.

That’s over and the past shall stay in the past.

Right now, I’ll happily enjoy the present.

Right now, I’ll happily munch on my heavenly happynola while I get through my pile of homework for the day.

image

*crack*
*crunch*
*squeals*

There was a sort of magic in every single bite.

Dear Granola, there’s something magical about You… the way You make me feel so blissfully full – in my thankful tummy and in my humble heart.

What a day to be alive.

One thought on “Heavenly Happynola

  1. Pingback: 4-Ingredient Chocolate Happynola 2.0 | Stefanie Natascha

Leave a Reply

