When Left To My Own Devices

image

Saturdays get quite magical.

It’s one of the few days I get to myself and myself only. I find it liberating to luxuriously immerse myself in the doings of my own choice and being aware of the ‘fullness’ of my own presence rather than the absence of others. It is only when we mute the deafening sounds of our daily existence that we manage to listen to the whispers of truth that life reveals to us only in the quietest and most serene moments that we share with ourselves.

Here’s a little peek into how Saturdays might play out for me, aka days when I’m left to my own devices.

When I’m left to my own devices, I whip up recipes and take charge of the kitchen.

image

The rosemary-spiced spelt crust had a nice bit of crunch but it was pliable enough to fold in half for if I had wanted a taco instead of a pizza! I found the mild spelt flavour a pleasant backdrop to the tomato and hummus spreads smothered atop the pizza base. After a minute or two of getting the spreads a little toasty-flavoured in the oven, I poured a generous serving of pre-steamed veggies all over the face of the crust – french beans, corn carrots, peas, stringed zucchini – oh and a handful of chopped, pre-baked/ -roasted sweet potato too! – before I shoved the tray back into the oven for one last time.

Fast forward twenty minutes, I pulled the tray out and poured a little bit of  basil-tomato sauce over the mountain of vibrant colours, followed by a sprinkle of parsley, thyme and black pepper!

Now everything was made from scratch, from start to finish, from pizza base to pizza spread(s)/ sauce(s) and to toppings and spices, from recipe brewing to… polishing it off the pizza board haha! What I really enjoy about cooking at home is the possibility to know what I am putting into my body – every vegetable, every grain, every spice, … Made from 100% fresh ingredients, oil-free, sodium-free, yeast-free (the dough doesn’t require to rise = preparation time is dramatically shortened = the sooner I get to FEEEAAASSSTTT haha!) and absolutely nutritious, I loved every bit of this homemade pizza and have since added it into my precious book of recipes! 😉

When I’m left to my own devices, I get comfortable in my own skin.

Things simply become lighter and easier when I love myself. I won’t make mountains out of molehills, I don’t drag myself down and I find an inner stability which I know I’d need when my world might present itself as negative or uncertain.

It too me quite a while to learn how to truly love myself and finally get about doing it. When I took on the challenge to let my walls down two years ago to know and embrace myself for who I am despite my human flaws, I surprisingly managed to connect in a more empathic and caring way with the ones I truly love, too. Perhaps this was one of the many reasons I turned to Veganism. 🙂

“What a lovely surprise to finally discover how unlonely being alone can be.” – Ellen Burstyn

image

When I’m left to my own devices, I make my way to places I know can make me feel amazing: the Gym.

image

The whole value of solitude depends upon one’s self; it may be a sanctuary or a prison, a haven of repose or a place of punishment, a heaven or a hell, as we ourselves make it. – John Lubbock

image

A blaze of brilliant colours – vibrant purples, oranges, pearly pinks, … – accompanied me during my short 20-minute cycle to the Gym that evening. I was heading for the 4.30pm Body Combat session which would be followed by the 5.35pm Core Functional Training session, and the gorgeous sunset had presented itself as an incredible opening act for the amazingly refreshing evening that followed.

I hope that You may find the strength to find a quiet and untroubled retreat in Your own souls, the same way I found one in mine. Have a magical weekend, dearest friends.

Leave a Reply

