I went for Round Two

image

A little more than two months ago, I visited the Sommer Dult at Mariahilfplatz on my own and last weekend, I visited the Kirchweidult at the very same location with a couple of amazing people I’ve been blessed to have crossed paths with.

image

Autumn gives me the strange urge to constantly crane my head upwards any chance I get, hoping I’d catch a leaf making its way down to Earth.

image

I slowed down to a saunter along the row of second-hand books, caressing the books as I made my way past them. One of the books snuggled comfortably in the middle of the stand caught my eye. It was a little fatter and stood a couple of centimetres higher than the others. I pulled the ancient-looking beauty from between its neighbours. The book had creased binding and the faint musty smell of the pages became apparent as the pages fell open in my hand – indications that this book had been loved.

I allowed myself a few minutes to read the book before I placed it back down to enjoy the other stories this little makeshift bookstore had to offer.

image

We had a little squabble here over where this gorgeous ancient yarn-spinning machine appeared in the book of fairytales. Yun Wei thought it appeared in the Sleeping Beauty where Aurora pricks her finger. I thought it appeared in Rumpelstiltskin where the miller’s daughter had to use to spin the golden thread. It brought back lovely memories from my childhood when I would share heartfelt moments reading fairytale stories with my sister before nap time in the afternoon.

image

With every excursion, comes food! Amirite?

image

We stopped by a Crepe stall and…

image

both Jona and Wei got themselves Caramel Crepes! As You can tell from a very happy Wei in the picture above, the Crepes made them very happy girls. 🙂

image

Jona and Robert got Glühwein for themselves too! It is otherwise known as “mulled wine” – a beverage usually made with red wine along with various mulling spices and raisins. It is served hot or warm and may be alcoholic or non-alcoholic, and traditionally served during winter (and I suppose the later part of Autumn too).

image

We walked around a corner to discover rows after rows of makeshift stands with colourful plastic roofs and fragrant potted flowers hanging from the four poles holding the stand up.

image

You name it, they had it! I found myself especially gravitated towards the tents which had hand-made pottery up for sale in the hope of finding a sibling for a gorgeous ceramic bowl which purchased from there during the Sommer Dult. I use it for a great majority of my meals and if You fancy finding out which bowl I’m talking about, it is featured *here* and *here*!

There were hundreds and hundreds of bowls, plates, mugs, cups, pots and storage canisters (for spices, sugar, milk, oil and grains) and none were short of having been painted on and glazed to perfection.

What I found particularly cheeky was the fact that their way of convincing potential customers that any of their products could be used as a baking dish was through displaying a dish of baked cinnamon rolls!

image

When I said that You could name anything and they’d have it, I meant that You could name anything and they’d have it. Even if that meant 3-storey-tall broomsticks! Dad told me that in the past, for those who owned an apartment in ¾-storey apartment buildings, such brooms were used to clean one’s windows from street level (regardless of which storey one’s apartment was located at).

image

Then there was the “Kartoffel Hütte” (aka “Potato Hut”)! I didn’t manage to have a look at what was housed under this cute little stall, but I could imagine that it had potatoes prepared in all sorts of ways in display!

image

Look what Robert found!! Green Spelt Vegan Burgers!! For 3,00€, it was quite a steal for a meal!

image

(Jona blocked Momo whoops!) This was a selfie we took before Jona and I attempted to conquer the seemingly unintimidating Swing Ride! It was to be my virgin ride on this machine and after years and years of dreaming about when I’d finally be able to enjoy the excitement on the ride myself, I was over the moon!

image 

We got seated…

image 

took a selfie to capture our very excited selves…

and off we flew!

image

The Chair Swing Ride (sometimes called a Swing Carousel, Wave Swinger, Yo-Yo, Chair-O-Planes or Swinger) is a variation on the carousel in which the chairs are suspended from the rotating top of the carousel. The rotating top of the carousel also tilts for additional variations of motion!

image

We were flung around like rag dolls in circles and circles and circles! The centrifugal force got stronger and stronger, and at some points, we were almost flying perpendicular to the ground!

image

It was probably 2 seconds into the 5-minute ride when I realised I’d be screaming throughout the entire ride, and I was right. It was a mix of excitement and fear and I kept having that strange tingly/ cramping sensation in my tummy that one gets at great heights! We were simply spun round and round and round and suddenly when it seemed as though the angle at which we were flying was decreasing, we suddenly went higher again!

Despite my conflicted emotions while on the ride, I definitely have to say that the wind blowing on my face felt pretty brilliant to say the least!

image 

Robert was really kind as to have been willing to take footage of Jona’s and my time on the Swing Ride, so if You’re reading this Robert, THANKS ONCE AGAIN!! 🙂

image

We were walking around the courtyard when I suddenly had a bubble pop on my cheek! I realised that they were being produced by one of the rides and I felt like a little kid again as I begun jumping, or rather hopping, up and down trying to ‘catch’ the bubbles floating around our heads. *pop*!

image

Amidst the hopping, Wei and I lost the rest of the pack…

image

but thank goodness for Robert’s height! We found each other again (yes again, I ‘got lost’ by myself several times) a couple of minutes on. *cheeeeeese*

image 

This is the Mariahilf-Kirche (Mariahilf Church); a pretty gigantic structure which made me feel reeeeaaaalllyy small standing right in front of it. I found myself pretty amazed by the gorgeous architecture and all the details that came with it!

image 

Wei and I ended up buying matching scarves! She got a blue-beige one to match her cardigan-jacket and I got an emerald green-brown-pink (looks better than it sounds!) to match my mustard-coloured parka.

image

We had a blast together at the fair grounds and now with Tollwood coming up in Winter, I truly am thrilled for the next time we’d be able to go on another exciting adventure together!

image

I caught a beautiful maple leaf in my hands right there and then.

One thought on “I went for Round Two

  1. Pingback: Voelkers At Oktoberfest 2016 | Stefanie Natascha

Leave a Reply

