Cruelty-Free Body Products – Original, Natural & Ethical

image


“The business of business should not just be about money, it should be about responsibility. It should be about public good, not private greed.” – Dame Anita Roddick, Human Rights Activist, Founder of The Body Shop

“You make a difference. To shop with a conscience is to start to see the connections we have with the environment around us. Whatever the product, it will have or has had, some impact on the environment somewhere.

Often you can feel that your small purchase doesn’t really matter. You are 1 person in a world of 6 billion. In fact, it is because each small purchase does have an impact and there are 6 billion+ people that it all adds up to one big difference. It is actually because each of our purchases do count, that we are in the environmental crisis of today. With each conscious choice we can minimise this impact.”

Source: http://www.ethical.org.au/3.4.2/get-informed/5-principles/


I’ve spent 18 years of my life being so ignorant over the fact that other humans/ animals have suffered for my consumption, be it clothing- or food-wise. I’ve been so selfish as to have to prioritised my own happiness over others’. It really isn’t a past I am very proud of, but I guess one shouldn’t dwell too much in the past for nothing will change regardless of how much one mopes over it. 

The past has gone and only the present and future can be changed by the decisions I make RIGHT NOW, so I’m going to focus on that and keep bettering myself in ever living moment that I am blessed with. :’)

“You see, greatness for a state doesn’t require some huge monument for all to see. It is not a journey to a particular destination – but a commitment to follow a course of constant and never-ending improvement.” – Sonny Perdue

An anon asked me a few days ago about ethical shopping and it occurred to me then that I could use my Tumblr as a platform to share the message of Ethical Consumerism, sooooo here I am going to do my best to do just that! :’)


I think a lot of people out there don’t realise that purchasing body products, which had been previously tested on animals, is considered as animal cruelty.

Sometimes reading articles like SaveTheWorld’s article on ‘The Truth Behind Animal Testing’ make me question humanity.

Here is an excerpt from the article:

“Even animal research that is carried out for “medical purposes” tends to be irrelevant to human health. A PETA investigation revealed the grotesque abuse of animals in laboratories at Columbia University, where baboons were subjected to invasive surgeries and left to suffer and die in their cages without any painkillers, and monkeys were forced to endure surgical procedures in which metal pipes were implanted into their skulls for the sole purpose of inducing stress to study the connection between stress and women’s menstrual cycles. 92% of what is considered to be safe and effective in animal tests are found to be either unsafe or ineffective in humans.”


I mean really, WHY would anyone do unto others what they wouldn’t want done unto themselves???


I was walking by The Body Shop last week with my Mum and sister and had to do a double take when I saw their range of banana-scented/ -flavoured products. Those who know me well would probably know I go head over heels for bananas and well… any ‘The Body Shop’ products too. 🙈

Ich war im siebten Himmel!!


image


The Body Shop this thing to me where I become psyched into having the urge to purchase EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. of their products. Having to take a pick one (or maybe a few 😋) of their amazing collection of products is (I’d imagine) as impossible as it is to favour one child over the other. How does one choose between one’s favourite things?


I ended up purchasing both the banana-scented shampoo and conditioner because… I mean, they come as a pair right? 😉 Hahaha it’d be unacceptable to only purchase one riiiiiiight? 😅 

OH and a toner and a face wash from the Tea Tree collection came along with my set of purchases because hey, my face needs some loving too. 🙈

WHY DO I LOVE THE BODY SHOP SOOOOO MUCH?

1. Against animal testingEvery one of our products is animal cruelty free and vegetarian. In fact we were the first international cosmetics brand to be recognized under the Humane Cosmetics Standard for our Against Animal Testing policy.

2. For trading fairly: We believe in fair trade to such an extent, that over 20 years ago we set up our own fair trade programme, called Community Fair Trade. We believe this level of commitment to trading fairly is unique in the cosmetics industry. Community Fair Trade now works with over 30 suppliers in more than 20 countries, providing over 25,000 people across the globe with essential income to build their futures. Most of our products contain Community Trade ingredients.

3. Our five core values: The Body Shop is a leader in promoting greater corporate transparency, and we have been a force for positive social and environmental change through our campaigns around our five core Values: Support Community Fair Trade, Defend Human Rights, Against Animal Testing, Activate Self-Esteem, and Protect Our Planet.

4. Our charitable foundation: We also have our own charity, The Body Shop Foundation. Launched in 1990 (registered charity no. 802757) we give financial support to pioneering, frontline organisations that otherwise have little hope of conventional funding. The Foundation’s focus is to assist those working to achieve progress in the areas of human and civil rights, environmental and animal protection.

Source: The Body Shop | About Us | Our Company


This franchise is a blessing to this Earth.


Here are a couple more links which I think could prove to be rather useful to anyone of You interested in this topic. 

The Internet holds a wonderful abundance of information that could potentially change this world for the better. All that is needed would be for each and every one of us to make the conscious decision to choose to use this blessing we call “Internet” wisely so as to better the way we treat Mother Earth and all living beings we share this planet with.

Leave a Reply

