Der Englische Garten

image

“A multitude of small delights constitutes happiness.” — Charles Baudelaire

“The ducks there are soooooo adorable!”

“A lady let me play with her dog hahaha!”

“I cycled through the entire park and took about 50 minutes. You’d love it too, especially in the evening when the sun sets!”

Ever since moving here on the 1st of July, I’ve heard so much about/ cycled past the Englischer Garten, and I simply couldn’t wait to set foot on this magnificent portion of Munich. However a part of me wanted to reserve my virgin trip there till when my family got here, so that we could head there together and experience something new together. :’) Shared experiences are always better, especially if it’s shared with one’s loved ones.

I was over the moon when the chance finally came last week. The plan was for us to head over to the park once I got home from school that day. I could barely concentrate in class because of all the butterflies in my tummy hehe I was just supremely excited!

I’ve included videos of the entire trip at the end of each part of this post. 🙂

image

A few strides into this park led us to discovering a Walnut tree. My Dad threw a stick towards a bunch of walnuts and this green beauty fell to the ground! I was quite confused as to why it was green in colour, considering the fact that we usually get them as brown-shelled nuts in the supermarket. I learned that the shell is underneath the green outer flesh! Pretty fancy haha 🙂

“The greatest fine art of the future will be the making of a comfortable living from a small piece of land.” ― Abraham Lincoln

I imagined how wonderful it would be to have a walnut (or almond!!) tree in one’s backyard – harvesting one’s own food and enjoying the fruits of one’s own labour. :’)

image

GOSH IT WAS SIMPLY TOO LONG A PERIOD SPENT APART; say hello to my dear sister!!

Also, this clearly depicts the relationship we share with our Mother. (She’s the one in the background holding up her phone trying to capture a picture of us as we go about our own selfie-taking HAHAHAA nahhh I kid, we don’t always leave her out. 😂) Love You, Mamiiiiii.

The Englischer Garten, German for “English Garden”, is a large public park in the centre of Munich, Bavaria, stretching from the city centre to the northeastern city limits. It was created in 1789 by Sir Benjamin Thompson (1753–1814) and with an area of 3.7 km2, the Englischer Garten is one of the world’s largest urban public parks, larger than New York’s Central Park. The name refers to its English garden form of informal landscape, a style popular in Britain from the mid-18th century to the early 19th century and particularly associated with Capability Brown.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Englischer_Garten

image

My Dad began talking to this little guy and so I dubbed him ‘The Duck Whisperer’ for the day hahaha!

image

This particular fellow got really close to us and was even within arm’s reach! I think it’s a beautiful thing how it isn’t because these critters are tamed that they aren’t afraid to come close to humans, but rather because the people here have not given them any reason to be afraid. :’) If there was one thing I took away from the Tiritiri Matangi island adventure that I went on during my backpacking trip with Niki in February, it’s that there is a difference between being tamed and being unafraid.

image

There were random piles of (might I add, PRETTY BIG) droppings around the park and after about 20 minutes into walking around the park, we found out why…

I do hope that these gorgeous creatures are treated right by whoever is making them work this hard. 😥

image
image 

My family did a bit of defying gravity. I think… I’ll let the video do the talking! 😉

image

With a little help from the park’s maps, we finally found our way to the magnificent Chinese Tower. It’s usually a location for balls (yes, dances!!) and other big celebrations as well.

image

“The Chinesischer Turm (“Chinese Tower”) is a 25 metre high wooden structure, first constructed in 1789 to 1790, from a design by the Mannheimer military architect Joseph Frey (1758–1819). It was modelled on the “Great Pagoda” in the Royal Botanic Gardens in London. The Pagoda, twice as high as the tower, was supposed to resemble a porcelain pagoda in the gardens of a Chinese emperor. The Munich tower has five storeys: the ground storey roof has a diameter of 19 m, the topmost storey of 6 m.

On July 13, 1944, the original tower burned down after heavy bombing; but a society to rebuild it was formed in 1951 and the new tower, made true to the original by consultation of detail photos and old drawings, was completed in September, 1952.”

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Englischer_Garten#Chinesischer_Turm

image

“Today I have grown taller from walking with the trees.” — Karle Wilson Baker

image

Aaaaand here’s a little video to add a little life into what I narrated in this post. :’)


We ended our day with a delightful dinner at a restaurant called “Reitschule”, which translates to “Riding School” in English.

image

While horse riders come here for horse riding lessons, the restaurant’s customers get a great view of the ongoing lessons. It was something I’ve never experienced before and in addition to the amazing dish I had for dinner that day, I really did enjoy the dinner we shared as a family there. 🙂


The Moment of Truth…

image

This was the morning after! As my Dad had promised, he cracked open the walnut and looooook!! This very walnut revealed a heart within it. I smiled when I saw it. ♥

image

Friends, I suggest that You stick to purchasing walnuts from the supermarket if You’re not very sure as to whether the walnuts on the trees are ripe or not.

Each of us took a bite out of the walnut we ‘harvested’, and we agreed on one thing almost instantly: it was bitter – really reallyyyyy unpleasant-ly bitter. Hahaha but at the very least, I’m able to tick “Eating a nut plucked from its tree” off my bucket list!

Leave a Reply

