#LJIL; August ‘15

The moments of happiness we enjoy take us by surprise. It is not that we seize them, but that they seize us. – Ashley Montagu

I’ve been blessed with so many incredible things this August – new friends, new experiences, new revelations, and I guess just an overall new lease on life. It’d be a pity to have these memories taken away from me in the future, be it due to age or ailments. My fervent need to  write and document everything probably has been a result of my fear of
forgetting
.

Besides the slightly more significant events in my life, which I’ve been posting up here, there have been many little things, which have managed to put a smile on my face. I believe that they are definitely worthy of being brought into the future in the form of memories, thus I’ve come up with a little something I’d like to call #LJIL, otherwise known as “Little Joys In Life”. It’d be a monthly affair, and it would basically consist of
very random occurrences during the particular month. Pretty excited about this!

image

It was about the first or second week of August that this little darling popped out of the soil in my garden. I reckoned that maybe this could have been the result of a bird’s excretion, which probably contained a seed it had consumed. I was absolutely over the moon. I took care of it over the next few weeks and watched it grow and grow and grow into the beautiful plant it is at the moment. It’s just a wonderful feeling to see the fruits of one’s labour blossom in front of their very eyes. I wonder if this is how parents feel about their children too. :’) It’s just so sweet to even think about. ♥

I’ve never really had the honour of taking care of a garden in Singapore, so naturally, after assuming the role an amateur gardener in Germany, I began learning a lot about how best to look after a garden and its lovely occupants. It is so much more than plants needing to be watered, having their soil/ environment cleaned/ cleared regularly, i.e. void of dead leaves and such, etc. I’ve had to monitor weather changes (using the weather app heheh) around and in Munich to help me determine how much water I should give the plants and how often to do so. Oh gosh was I glad I took Biology in school, for it guided me through preventing overcrowding, ensure as much sun exposure as possible, and ensuring the correct nutrients being given in sufficient amounts among many others. It’s just been a really interesting experience being able to work hand in hand with the many elements of nature as I take care of my floral babies. It’s therapeutic to say the least. :’)

image

Next up we’ve got FIGGSSSSS (and a few other of my favourite fruits), because it’s the season of the oh glorious figs. It only comes once a year between June and September, and due to its high supply during this period, the fig prices would plunge greatly and in turn make me very veryyyy happy. 😉 I remember the first time I tried figs in August 2013. My Mum came home after work and told me she had gone to the grocery store to pick up a type of fruit which looked like a plum but was pointy on one end, pretty much pear-shaped. She said that she was intrigued by its appearance and felt compelled to try it even though it certainly wasn’t one of the cheaper fruits around. Well I’m glad she felt that way because it allowed me the grand opportunity of biting into the confusing yet oddly intriguing consistencies of the various parts of a fig.

Dried figs are available throughout the year, but truly, there simply is nothing like the unique taste and texture of fresh figs. With a sweet, pulpy and chewy flesh, they are lusciously sweet with slightly ‘smoosh-ier’ flesh in it and a burst of crunchy seeds right in its core. There’s just so much going on within this fruit, and I highly recommend You all to try it!!! FYI, figs grow on the Ficus tree (Ficus carica), which is a member of the Mulberry family. Ah and there’s so much goodness that comes with it, have a look: http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=24

Fruit up, friends! Your body will thank You! 😉

Time for some videos!!

They’ve brought me so many smiles and so much laughter. YouTube is such a joy when one manages to find the kind of videos which feeds their soul with positive vibes.

This video comes from “alexrainbirdMusic”. I’ve been religiously keeping myself updated with every new upload, and out of all their season compilations, I’ve never found myself really being fond of every single song in the ca. 1 hour-long, UNTIL I PLAYED THIS VERY SUMMER COMPILATION. Love at first hearing, hahahha truly! Whoever is running this channel is wonderful, I mean look! This was what was written under the channel’s description: “About alexrainbirdMusic: Since 2011, Alex Rainbird has been hunting down and showcasing the very best in independent music. Featuring around 40 new artists a month, Alex hopes to provide a platform for underrated musicians to be heard and for viewers to find their new favourite band.”

He’s making the dreams of these artists come trueeeeee. :’) Sweet!

“El Mismo Sol” means “Under The Same Sun” in English – it was dubbed the greatest Summer hit in Europe this year! Alvaro Soler is half Spanish-half German, speaks German, Spanish, English, and Japanese (because he spent a part of childhood in Japan), and just wow, with where he’s headed with  his music, he’s got things going on for him!! 🙂

I heard this song on the radio very recently and really really really loved her voice from the very first moment. I don’t know why but she, as a singer, brings up two words in my mind: “raw” and “organic”. She has something lovely rustic about her and listening to her voice makes me feel so at ease. It’s definitely a bonus that I’m in love with her lyrics too!

OH AND THIS HAHAHAHAH. I laughed so hard throughout the entire video HAHAHAHA these videos made my day, and I suppose if we have the same type of humour, You may find this hilarious too!! Enjoy! 😉

Thought I’d end off this LJIL post with my favourite sunset of the month. We had a sparkly Crescent moon that evening and it simply made the entire night sky that much more brilliant. :’)

image

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them. – John F. Kennedy

Leave a Reply

