Der Kultur-Runde Tourenplan

image

I was feeling adventurous on a quiet Saturday and decided to go for a ‘Culture Tour’ around Munich! Nothing sounded better to me then. 🙂 It was a ‘highly recommended’ tour that I found on Munich City’s website, sooooo why not! It would clock a distance of 22km, take about 2 hours 15 minutes (without pauses), and would bring me through places like Altstadt, Königsplatz, Nymphenburg, Schwabing and Siegestor!

I really really reallyyyyy enjoyed this particular trip, and we must’ve had superb lightning or something that day, for the photos that I took during this adventure are by far one of my favourites! Enjoy!! 🙂

image 

First up, we have the Siegestor, which literally translates to Victory Gate in English. It is a three-arched triumphal arch crowned with a statue of Bavaria with a lion-quadriga, and is 21 metres high, 24 metres wide and 12 metres deep!! It sits snugly between the Maxvorstadt and Schwabing districts in Munich.

I actually had to do a little jostling with some Chinese tourists to get this shot hahaha it was just my luck, or rather lack of it, that when I got off my bike to take a picture of the gate, a tour bus filled with Chinese tourists stopped no more than 5 metres away from  where I was, and loads of tourists started disembarking from it. They can get pretty feisty!

image

Beautiful fountains along the streets are pretty commonplace around here, and I guess that’s what I love about Munich – one can tell just how much effort has been put into preserving the rustic charm of the area. :’)

image

Ooooooh and monuments too! They are put up to commemorate certain Army Generals from the past, and it’s always lovely to just pause and have a read at their achievements/ victories, which is inscribed into a metal plate screwed into the side of the statue.

Oh and the group of people on SEGWAYs? Hahaha it’s pretty amusing – they’re actually on a city tour! Who knew one could get around a Munich tour on a Segway?! What a thrill! Well, so then I decided to follow them around a bit because… you know… I wanted to try my luck with getting a little free tour around the area. 😉 HAHAHA anyway after while of being a ‘cheapo’, I found out that we were both headed in the same direction, so I broke off from the pack and went ahead. 🙂

image

Say hello to a dainty, laid-back, beachy and extremely homey American-styled shop I chanced upon as I made my way to Schloss/ Schloß Nymphenburg, aka the Nymphenburg Castle. This shop had so many peculiar trinkets, wonderfully aromatic candles, a large tea and spices collection, mason jars, baking equipment, and loads more things which would definitely spruce up anyone’s living space. :’) As I browsed through their items, I had to keep telling myself to think of my budget for I still had to do some grocery shopping that day hahaha. Despite my fervent attempts, I ended up purchasing a gift for a friend who is visiting me soon!! I can’t wait! :’) I absolutely couldn’t NOT purchase it, it’s just sooooo HER! I figured the investment would be worth it to see her smile. :’) #justifyingmypurchases

image

Aaaaaand I was finally getting close to the castle! This was the little stream, which led to the castle. There were benches placed close by the banks and I could imagine how lovely it would be to just relax there and maybe read a book (or two) as I snack on bananas or any fruit for that matter. :’) Maybe next time!

image

Of course, here are some flowers. Let’s take a moment to appreciate the ever-gorgeous flora we’ve been blessed with on this Earth. I’m just in love with how the sun’s rays accentuate the flower’s petals and every crease on them. Nature complements each other so well, and and and… ahhh :’) It’s just a wonderful thing to be in the midst of such magic.

image

Ah and this was pretty unusual. You know how it’ll usually be a statue or a fountain in the middle of a little pond/ lake? Here we had a lump of rocks in the middle of the pond hahahaha it’s unbelievable what Europeans take interest in and regard as monumental structures. I suppose it teaches us to appreciate the simpler things in life and make something out of nothing.

image

These swans had their necks nestled into their feathers and it made them look ‘neck-less’. Hahahaha I originally thought that this was a species of swans that had short necks, that was… until I saw the swan in the background.

image

Cute statue!! BUT cuter boy!! No no no I am not a paedophile, but he was just being so cute taking pictures of absolutely everything and saying things like, “Mummmm, You have to listen to me, I’m a professional at this!” The sweetest thing was that his parents played along and gave their son a well-deserved learning experience with regards of photography. :’)

image

The one and only Schloss Nymphenburg! A beauty, isn’t it?

image

There were statues peppered allllll over the place and I don’t know
whether it was just me, but all of them seemed to have been made to bring
laughter to people hahaha I mean, look at this one!

image

When I walked around the statue, I realised one of the boys featured in it had his hand placed on the other boy’s buttocks. Seconds later, some tourists from England came by and re-enacted the scene! Hahahaha I could barely hold my hands still as I tried to stifle my laughter and take a picture for them simultaneously.

image

Alright so after I was done walking around the front area of the castle, I parked my bike and proceeded through the castle’s main lobby (which I must say, looked like an absolute dream) towards the G I A N T garden at the back of the architectural masterpiece. Flowers abound! It felt like Heaven on Earth – absolutely magical. :’)

image

“The fragrance of flowers spreads only in the direction of the wind. But the goodness of a person spreads in all directions.” – Chanakya

image

And look, another amusing statue… I couldn’t tell for sure if there was greater meaning behind it, but all he was doing was pretty much looking all ‘cool’ as he pointed upwards towards the sky hahaha. It was a beautiful piece nonetheless. 🙂

image

I spent the next half hour or so walking around, exploring the area, conversing with some friendly tourists, and admiring the flowers among other things. After that, I was pretty much ready to head back to my bike to continue the journey back to my apartment, so I proceeded right back to the castle to make my way through the regal lobby, which by the way had been transformed into a rather luxurious-looking souvenir shop, once again. Aaaaand so this was the view I had just before re-entering the castle. Look at the detail! Absolutely fantastic!

Oh and the golden-coloured parts? Yea they’re made out of real gold.

image

To end off my post, I thought I’d do it with a picture of a couple of adorable duckies I saw at the castle’s garden and a quote I chanced upon recently which I fell in love with:

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.” – Melody Beattie

Have a fantastic week ahead, friends! Xx

3 thoughts on “Der Kultur-Runde Tourenplan

  1. Pingback: Nymphenburg Castle In My Backyard – Stefanie Natascha

Leave a Reply

