50 Shades Of Grey, Kaut-Bullinger & Architecture

image

In the past week, in the midst of the studying, I found myself craving adventure and I realised that no one but myself could make it a reality, so I got serious with planning, armed with my favourite fountain pen, my sparkly – yes, sparkly – blue notebook and access to the amazing http://www.muenchen.de/verkehr/fahrrad.html!!

I was feeling creative and decided to plan my own route that day, so I decided on a trip through Schleißheimerstraße, through Dachauer Straße, through Hauptbahnhof, Marienplatz, Stachus, and basically many other locations in the main city area, because contrary to the notions which usually come with the idea of a city – high-rise buildings, lack of tradition, etc. – the city area in Munich is pretty historically-dense and provides anyone with much to be enamoured with.

This particular trip wasn’t a very long one, but nonetheless here are the few pictures I took throughout the day. 🙂 Enjoy!!

image

First off, here’s the Glypothek, a theatre where loads of plays are usually held. It’s located near Karolinenplatz, where a beautiful, tall, black obelisk stands. A pity I didn’t get a picture of it! Maybe next time! 🙂 Also I’m just absolutely in love with the symmetry in this picture hahaha is it just me or does anyone else also find symmetry beautiful and therefore
absolutely pleasing to the eye? :’)

image

Next up we have the Flemish Gothic Neues Rathaus at Marienplatz. The highest tip of this town hall is 79 metres above ground! It’s unbelievably majestic and definitely a highlight of this area in town. :’) This is also where the biggest Christmas Market in Munich is usually held at the end of the year, and if You look closely, You’ll be able to see this green portion in the middle of the town hall. It is the Rathaus-Glockenspiel.

“Part of the second construction phase of the New Town Hall, it dates from 1908. Every day at 11 a.m. (as well as 12 p.m. and 5 p.m. in summer) it chimes and re-enacts two stories from the 16th century to the amusement of mass crowds of tourists and locals. It consists of 43 bells and 32 life-sized figures. The top half of the Glockenspiel tells the story of the marriage of the local Duke Wilhelm V (who also founded the world famous Hofbräuhaus) to Renata of Lorraine. In honour of the happy couple there is a joust with life-sized knights on horseback representing Bavaria (in white and blue) and Lothringen (in red and white). The Bavarian knight wins every time, of course.

This is then followed by the bottom half and second story: Schäfflertanz (the coopers’ dance). According to myth, 1517 was a year of plague in Munich. The coopers are said to have danced through the streets to “bring fresh vitality to fearful dispositions.” The coopers remained loyal to the duke, and their dance came to symbolize perseverance and loyalty to authority through difficult times. By tradition, the dance is performed in Munich every seven years. This was described in 1700 as “an age-old custom”, but the current dance was defined only in 1871. The dance can be seen during Fasching (German Carnival): the next one is in 2019.

The whole show lasts somewhere between 12 and 15 minutes long depending on which tune it plays that day. At the very end of the show, a very small golden rooster at the top of the Glockenspiel chirps quietly three times, marking the end of the spectacle.”

Source: Wikipedia – Rathaus-Glockenspiel

History is simply exciting, isn’t it? :’)

image

So I also visited my favourite green patch of land in the middle of the city hahaha yes it’s the same one which I spoke about in one of my previous posts. The one and only Marienhof. Today I had a little time to walk around slowly and spotted this pot. It reads: www.sea-shepherd.org, www.earthlings.de MAKE THE CONNECTION, GO VEGAN!”

I was pretty shocked to say the least. I mean, who’d expect to see something like this finger-painted on a pot in the middle of the city? Not me. I was heartened by the effort to spread veganism nonetheless. :’) I love it when people go out of their way to spread a message about something they’re passionate about – it doesn’t necessarily have to be about Veganism, but rather for anything at all. The human spirit is amazing. 🙂 Do check out the 2 links if You’re interested, I’ve learned quite a bit from them myself!

I spent the next 30-50mins walking around and enjoying the music produced by the lovely buskers along the streets, browsing through Kaut-Bullinger, the largest stationery shop I’ve ever been to (5 floors worth of books, pens, decorative items, etc.!!!), window shopping at some furniture shops, absorbing vital Vitamin D under the sun and just being thankful for the chance to be in such a joyful place at that moment. :’)

image

Okay so this was a little out of the ordinary… A group of guys gathered in the middle of one of the streets and there was a man reading out a text, or play or something. I couldn’t tell from where I was standing when I spotted them first, so I walked a little closer and nothing would have prepared me for what I realised was taking place.

IT WAS A PUBLIC READING OF “50 SHADES OF GREY”!! Talk about wacky!

image

This was a beautiful garden I spotted during my ride back to my apartment, and I couldn’t help but put a pause on my journey to simply take in all the magic that came with this location in Munich. :’) I got off my bike and sat myself down on one of the benches, and began reading ‘I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings’ by Maya Angelou, a book lovingly given to me by one of my favourite people in the world. Sending loads of love to You, my dear!!

Leave a Reply

