Horsing Around

image

I drove for about 35 minutes to get to a Horse Ranch right off the centre of Dachau (yes, this is where Hitler’s Concentration Camp lies). I was there to visit a family friend for dinner.

As I drove out of Munich’s city centre and into the countryside, a wave of warmth washed over me as the sun’s setting rays swallowed me whole in the midst of corn fields, farm houses and free roaming cows and horses.

The quantity of cars on the roads gradually decreased and slowly but surely, it came down to me being the only driver along the stretch of road I was on. I rolled down the windows as I let the cool wind blow onto my face and the smell of hay waft into the car – so fresh, zingy and gentle. I do regret not having taken a picture of the beauty I was blessed with that evening, but I mean, it was pretty difficult to tear my eyes away from the sight before me to take my camera out of my bag.

It was simply magical. 

image

Upon reaching the horse stable, I met my friend who told me it was time for her horse, Comanchero, to go for a walk and that I could come along! Sweet! 🙂

We spent the next hour or so walking around the area – trudging through the soft Earth beneath our feet, navigating through plantations, breathing in the invigorating countryside air and letting the shin bathe us in all its glory. After the walk, we proceeded with feeding Comanchero his dinner. :’)

Until one has loved an animal a part of one’s soul remains unawakened.” – Anatole France

image

Once we made sure this beautiful creature was well taken care of and satisfied, we drove back to her house to meet the rest of the family for dinner. A night filled with excellent food and joyous conversations ensued before I drove off with my friend to a castle nearby to star gaze and view Munich from one of the highest points in the region. As we overlooked the entire city, in the midst of the deafening silence, revelling the beauty of the streetlights illumining the streets and of the sparkles above us in the night sky, it was hard not to feel as though it was just us against the world.

I drove her back home before embarking on my journey back to my apartment. As I was driving and replaying the evening’s moments, I could not help but feel truly and completely satisfied with life.

Leave a Reply

