Gone Exploring (& Studying)

image

“By replacing the fear of the unknown with curiosity, we open ourselves to an infinite stream of possibilities.” — Alan Watts

My favourite part about moving to a new place is the newfound opportunities to ‘try’, more specifically to ‘try one’s hand’.

According to Merriam-Webstertry <verb> ˈtrī (e.g. ~ one’s hand) means to attempt something for the first time.

For so long, I could only do things again, but never for the first time. After about a month of dedicating majority of my time to discovering my new city, I have come to the conclusion that starting life on a clean slate could be likened to being given birth to again – just like how a baby tries everything for the first time upon being introduced to the world.  That was exactly why I refused to take any other person’s hints or tips for getting by in Munich, for I really wanted to discover through trial and error how I can best live in this new environment. It may have seemed stubborn or careless to be as unprepared as I was, but I thought, “Isn’t that what life is about?” Of course, I do not mean to diminish the need for making plans for some aspects in life, however, too much planning robs life of any potential surprises and spontaneity – two of many aspects of living that make life so exciting. It began to seem for me as if –


Okay wait oh my goodness, a wasp just flew into the apartment and settled on the balcony doorknob which is no more than 1.5 metres away from where I am currently seated and I’d be lying if I said it didn’t bother me the slightest bit. Bees are amazing creatures (and we have so much to learn from them with regards to their work ethics!!) and I truly respect them for what they do for Mother Nature, however I do fear them for pain that they could inflict upon me with their stings.

Amidst my anxiety, I found myself recalling my Mum telling me about bees are believed to be a symbol of luck! I can’t believe this but I actually found evidence to support this belief – I’ll leave it to the end of this post. 🙂


– Ah okay so back to writing this post about exploration.

After spending the morning in school, I cycled to the city centre around the area of Marienplatz, Stachus and Hauptbahnhof, and after safely locking my bike onto one of the many bike ‘parking areas’ around the city, I navigated through throngs of shoppers before settling down at a beautiful meadow I found. I find it so lovely how a large patch of green was so cheekily plotted in the midst of a mass of concrete giants – it was a refreshing view to say the least!

image

There was a particular tree, which had seeds being dispersed from its branches in a manner that looked as if they were parachuting down onto Earth as the wind carried them – the seed literally had a leaf-like structure which looked like a parachute’s canopy, two twig-like structures which in turn looked like a parachute’s suspension lines, and the seed at the lowest point of this structure which looked like a person handling the parachute. I’ll definitely try to snap a shot or two of this if I ever manage to chance upon such an occurrence again. :’)

Students were studying, artists were painting, kids were frolicking, lovers loving and others were picnicking – there certainly was a chill and calming ambience in the area, and it surfaced a sense of peace in me. I fished my lunchbox and homework out of my bag, and began munching on dragon fruit as I set up my makeshift study space for the afternoon.

image

This very adventure was the first of many others, and I give it credit for getting the ball rolling for all of my subsequent ones. It was a day filled with perfect weather, friendly souls, amazing architecture and undoubtedly high levels of adrenaline. :’)


Now I’ll get back to the bees

The Bee in Folklore & Mythology

“According to folklore from Britain and Ireland, if a bumblebee buzzes around your house or at your window, it brings news that a visitor will soon arrive (7), and the bumblebee is even supposed to tell you the visitor’s gender; if it has a red tail (like the Early Bumblebee or Red-tailed Bumblebee) the visitor will be male, if the tail is white (as with the White-Tailed Bumblebee, Heath Bumblebee or Garden Bumblebee), the visitor will be female. However if anyone killed the visiting bumblebee, they will have bad luck/ the visitor would be unpleasant/ the visitor would bring nothing but bad news (which serves them right)!

Bees symbolise wealth, the wealth of knowledge or the wealth of good luck as well as meaning wealth in the financial sense. In Wales it was very lucky if bees of any kind set up home in or near your home, as they were said to bless it with prosperity. Finding a bumblebee on a ship is good luck. Should a bee land in your hand then it allegedly means that money is coming your way. According to Irish and British folklore, you must never buy bees with normal money, only with gold coins, although, if possible, it is best to barter
over them, so as not to offend them, or to receive them as a gift, so that no money changes hands at all. If a single bee enters your house it is traditionally a sign of good luck coming to you, usually in the form of money, but to have a bumblebee die in your home brought bad luck and poverty.

Even in modern folk magic bumblebees serve as a charm for health and wealth.

Bees are linked with magic, love, industriousness and creativity. Bees of all kinds were thought to have special knowledge and the ability to tell or see into the future.”

Source: Bumblebee Conservation – Bees In Folklore

“Bees have often been regarded as wise and even holy insects, having foreknowledge as well as knowledge of many secret matters. In antiquity they were sometimes divine messengers, and their constant humming was believed to be a hymn of praise. Because of their status it is still considered unlucky in some places to kill a bee. If a bee flies into the house it is a sign of great good luck, or of the arrival of a stranger; however, the luck will only hold if the bee is allowed to either stay or to fly out of the house of its own accord. A bee landing on someone’s hand is believed to foretell money to come, while if the bee settles on someone’s head it means that person will rise to greatness. They were once considered to deliberately sting those who swore in front of them, and also to attack an adulterer or unchaste person; it was once held to be a sure sign that a girl was a virgin if she could walk through a swarm of bees without being stung.”

Source: Vanessa’s Pagan Place Folklore Page

I’m feeling quite excited to see who’d be dropping by in my life!

Leave a Reply

