An Unplanned Roadtrip Pt. II

image

I woke up bright and early, grabbed my yoga mat and dashed for the veranda which would bless me with an uninterrupted view of the Zeller See, along with the beauty of the Alps which towered over the valley. It wasn’t too long later that the sun rose from behind the giants, forming shadows upon the mountains it rose behind and a phenomenon commonly known as “Morgen Rot” (literally translating to “Morning Red”) came into existence – it is a special red glow which appears on the tips of the Alps when the sun rises just high enough such that its rays only highlight the white pinnacles.

I was kindly rejuvenated by Nature and I walked back in to find my father in kitchen, busying himself with breakfast preparation. I assumed my position by the stove and began cooking some oatmeal, boiling water for our tea leaves and cutting beautifully matured
fruits. To handle food in their unprocessed forms – without the interference of machines and additional chemicals – gives me so many reasons to smile, knowing that what once sprung to life with the help of Mother Earth would soon enter my system and nourish me. It gives me a sense of connection to the Earth beneath my feet, a sense of connection to my energy giver. Isn’t it wonderful how the unaltered produce of Nature want nothing else but to provide us with purity and health?

What an honour it is to be an Earthling!

image

It was by pure chance that my Dad and I were in Austria over this very weekend, and it was a pleasant surprise to realise that the Seefest (‘Lake Summer Celebration’) was taking place in no more than a few hours! What I loved about the celebration’s announcement was that it was done by printing the announcement on a flag that was subsequently flown around the valley by a small airplane – not by mail or by an advertisement on television, by an airplane!! Isn’t it lovely how an assumption was made that a majority of the valley’s residents would be out and about in nature, and thus be in a position to view the announcement, instead of being cooped up at home? :’)

“Wildness reminds us what it means to be human, what we are connected to rather than what we are separate from.” — Terry Tempest Williams

image

As the day drew to a close, the Seefest was well on its way to commencing – the buzz of preparation was audible from the opposite side of the lake where we were at. The celebration started off with a spectacular air show performed by Hannes Arch, a 47 y/o Austrian Pilot, who happens to be one of the best ‘Red Bull pilots’ out there. Red Bull apparently sponsors these air shows and ergo, the term ‘Red Bull pilots’. 🙂 Anywho, Hannes put up such an amazing air show, and I don’t think I’ve ever looked up to the skies so intensely in my life – I was trying to capture his magnificence, and I think I may have in this picture!! I have never seen someone handle an airplane with such elegance and ease and and and… well the performance was just plain brilliant !!!! I mean, he has his own website – that has GOT to mean something. Do check out his gallery if you’ve got time to spare. He’s a legend!

image

A water show ensued the air show, and it was yet another 30 minutes of wonder – the easiest way to describe it would be to say that it resembled firework, as it would be, on a water surface. Water spewed gracefully in time with the beat of the music and colour of sorts went along with the elegant splashes. It certainly was a sight to behold! I was clearly mesmerised to the point of forgetting to document this, sorry!

Just like every other good celebration, this very Seefest came to a close with a grand firework exhibition. What a blessing it was to witness such life and excitement in the midst of the beautiful, towering giants, during my favourite season of the year, and with one of my favourite people on this Earth – my father.

Leave a Reply

