Till we meet again, dearest Bali – Day Four

image

I woke up before the sun did, to a buzz coming from my phone. I smiled to myself for it was a “Good Morning” text. My stomach probably did a thousand sommersaults within the short span of time which had seemed to slow down at that very moment. Such a text could’ve come from anyone, really. It was more about experiencing first-hand a human’s capacity to love – to have you enter their headspace during the final waking moments of their day and letting you know they’ve thought of you – which melted my heart (and apparently triggered the Gymnastics routine in my abdomen) beyond any measure.

The contrast of his falling of dusk and my breaking of dawn became strikingly apparent over Skype. Summer in Europe meant the sun set late at night, and as a result, we experienced the wonder of seeing the same Sun fall and rise in all its glory. It was supremely surreal to say the least. Isn’t it intriguing how, at every single moment, the Earth wakes up and sleeps simultaneously? There isn’t a point of time at which lifeforms cease to move forward, to progress, to… live and exist. The omnipresence of mankind’s waking presence came as a reminder to me that if every one of us believed in the betterment of Mother Nature’s health and of the welfare and well-being of mankind and animals alike, worldly issues such as Global Warming, poverty, hunger, discrimination, ruthless execution of livestock, und so weiter could most definitely be offset or even fade out completely. This omnipresence is proof that we do possess the opportunity of having 24 hours in a day, we just need each other and an antagonistic system – wherein one sleeps to have the other continue from where the former left off – to make it a reality.

“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

My Mum’s and my flight back to Singapore wasn’t for another couple of hours so we decided to stay in the resort. We had different ideas of relaxation so it was a mutual decision to go our separate ways for an hour or two before returning to our treehouse loft. We do enjoy each others’ company, it’s just that as individuals, we also treasure moments during which we can call our own, moments during which we can recalibrate. I think all of us need such moments, don’t you? For it is only then that we can honour ourselves with the attention which we ever so often forget to shower ourselves with. We should regard ourselves as important as anyone else on this Earth, maybe even more important. I mean, how are we, as individuals, suppose to give – be it in terms of love, care, or spirituality – if we don’t feel emotionally and physically sufficient on our own? Time heals everyone. It heals the heart, mind and soul. It could very well be the only thing we need to regain the truest, most unadulterated form of ourselves.

My Mum went for her massage while I headed to the Yoga Studio for a final Vinyasa session with Ditte, one of the lovely Yoga teachers we had around. Vinyasa yoga focuses on synchronising breath with movement, whereby the poses smoothly transition from one to the next – almost like a dance – while maintaining a regular rhythm of inhaling and exhaling. I remember how Ditte moved so gracefully and elegantly through the poses, oh dear goodness, her flexibility, strength and control were absolutely on point. It was incredible to witness for myself what the human body could achieve if we invested in it in terms of time, energy and funds for training and nourishment. It was a beautiful sight.

Yoga truly is an art. 

The human physique is a work of art, too.

It’s a pity that many people I’ve crossed paths with in life do not agree with the latter. Body shaming, be it done to ourselves or towards others is toxic. If you feel this way about yourself, I just would like to let you know that I’ve been there too during some of the lowest points in my life and that I understand. Please know that if you need someone to talk to, I’m here. Kindness in the form of a loving family’s support and close friends’ encouragement brought me out of the hellhole (I apologise for the lack of a better word), and I thought that it’d be only right if I pass on this kindness to others. Sending all my love to you. Take care.

image

As I sat on the swinging ‘pendulum chair’ in the private ‘Hangout & Chilltop’ corner above The Chillhouse’s dining area, I silenced my thoughts and muted my movements to achieve a sense of equilibrium with the Earth’s stillness. Peace was all around me and in my heart. I spent a moment being at one with the energy of this Earth, before I opened my eyes and let my thoughts rush back and crash onto every nook of my mind like a tsunami. Having my pen glide along the surface of my journal brought a wave of relief to my heart as my memories were being concretised onto paper. They were no longer simply a fragment of my thoughts, they were never to be forgotten.

I felt so blessed. 

We all are blessed, in one way or another.

After all, life itself is a blessing.

I learned so much about life, love, culture, and essence of the land my Mum and I traversed. Speaking from future times after which I’ve moved – even though I’d have to fly halfway around the globe to set foot in this magical location again, I’m happy just knowing that places at which one can truly find themselves again exists.

Nothing has ever come because I wanted it to. It’s always only when I’m ready, when I need it most, that life slows into a warp so that I can recover and take in all that I had missed out on or chose to block out of view. In this sense, life is pretty magical, isn’t it? :’)

image

After 45 minutes spent on the Bali roads dodging traffic and stopping over at a wet market to stock up on our supply of sweet Balinese mangoes, mangosteens, and my airplane snacking stash of sweet potatoes, bananas and homemade bliss balls among other things, my Mum and I arrived at the Ngurah Rai International Airport with smiles on our faces at the thought that we’d be home in a matter of hours. We missed home. We missed my Dad and my sister.

Hours later as the plane set its path on the pier and flew upwards into the Heavens, dreamy clouds engulfed us whole before we emerged into a haven of salmon pink, baby blue and indigo hues. I fell back in my seat and closed my eyes as I acknowledged the end of my trip. With a heart beaming and pulsing with a spirit so strong, I could not help but feel excited for all that will come my way in life.

‘Matursuksma’ means ‘Thank you’.

So Matursuksma, Bali.

I’ll be back, for whatever amount of time the stars will allow.

“The world is small and it is ours, if we want it.” ― Anonymous

Leave a Reply

